News & Views

Rishi Sunak creates four new Government departments in his ‘mini-reshuffle’

The Prime Minister, Rishi Sunak, claims the new departments will ensure the right skills and teams are focused on his five promises: to halve inflation, grow the economy, reduce debt, cut waiting lists and stop the boats.

The latest changes include the following:

A new Department for Energy Security and Net Zero has been tasked with securing long-term energy supply, reducing bills and halving inflation. The Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP will lead the department as Secretary of State. He was previously Secretary of State at BEIS.

A dedicated Department for Science, Innovation and Technology led by the Rt Hon Michelle Donelan MP to drive innovation for improved public services, create new and better-paid jobs and grow the economy. She was previously Secretary of State for DCMS.

A combined Department for Business and Trade led by the Rt Hon Kemi Badenoch MP to support growth by backing British businesses at home and abroad, promoting investment and championing free trade.

Finally, a re-focused Department for Culture, Media and Sport led by Rt Hon Lucy Frazer KC MP to recognise the importance of these industries to our economy and build on the UK’s position as a global leader in the creative arts. Frazer was previously Minister for Housing and Planning at DLUHC.

Early indications from the CPA suggest that the new DCMS may be responsible for ‘most’ products for the UKCA brief. In contrast, construction products will remain at the DLUHC, enabling the transition from Europe’s CE marking.

The Rt Hon Greg Hands MP has been appointed as the new Conservative Party chairman following the removal of Nadhim Zahawi just over a week ago.


new government departments

Back to Blog