News & Views

Enter the BMA Sustainability Awards 2023

The BMA is thrilled to announce the BMA Sustainability Awards 2023 launch, an opportunity for all our esteemed members to showcase their dedication to sustainability and contribute to a greener future.

These awards are a testament to the BMA’s commitment to promoting environmental stewardship and recognising the remarkable efforts made by manufacturers in reducing their environmental impacts.

Mark your calendars! The prestigious award ceremony will take place on October 10th at the beautiful Carden Park Hotel in Cheshire as part of the BMA’s Annual Industry Conference. This extraordinary evening will commence with a networking drinks reception, followed by an elegant black-tie Gala Dinner and, of course, the highly anticipated award ceremony. To add to the excitement, a delectable four-course dinner will accompany a raffle and auction, supporting the conference charity partner, CRASH.

The BMA extend an exclusive invitation to all full and affiliate members to submit their award-winning entries. We encourage you to share your exceptional projects, products, or initiatives through a 300–400-word narrative encompassing the background, team members involved, the process, and, most importantly, the outcomes.

We also request all entries to be accompanied by a video of up to three minutes, which can even be shot on an iPhone. Don’t underestimate the power of a compelling video in showcasing what sets your entry apart.

Submitting an entry is quick and easy, using a convenient entry form.

Please remember the submission deadline is August 31st, so seize this opportunity to shine a spotlight on your sustainability achievements.

This year, the BMA will present three distinct award categories: the Carbon Reduction Award, the Water Efficiency Award, and the new Open Category Award.

Carbon Reduction Award – Sponsored by KBB Focus:

Businesses worldwide are uniting to tackle climate change, and in the UK, the Government is aiming for net zero emissions by 2050. This award will recognise those leading bathroom manufacturers who have taken strides toward reducing their carbon footprint with initiatives such as improved energy efficiency, investments in renewable resources, greening the fleet, etc.

Judging criteria: 1) Quality of the entry, 2) Level of carbon abatement, and 3) Execution of the initiative.

Water Efficiency Award – Sponsored by UWLA:

UK Government initiatives such as the Environmental Improvement Plan and the Plan for Water actively encourage a more water-efficient built environment. The bathroom forms an integral part of this, contributing over 60% to domestic water use – making it vital that our sector takes steps towards meeting these plans. By recognising those who go beyond expectations with their efforts in minimising the use of this precious commodity, this award recognises those who are playing a pioneering role in water efficiency.

Judging criteria: 1) Quality of the entry, 2) Potential water efficiency achieved, and 3) Product innovativeness.

Open Category Award – Sponsored by Installer/Elemental:

This new category for 2023 recognises the various initiatives that bathroom manufacturers have embarked on in an aspirational path towards more sustainable practices. From transitioning operations to a circular economy model, educating staff about efficient water use, or inspiring consumers to make eco-friendly decisions through marketing and product campaigns – we are proud to recognise your incredible efforts in advocating for the planet.

Judging criteria: 1) Quality of the entry, 2) Scale of potential positive environmental impact, and 3) Outcomes achieved.

The BMA are excited to witness members’ groundbreaking ideas and visionary thinking and encourages you to participate in the Sustainability Awards 2023. Together, let’s continue pushing for the highest standards for sustainability within the bathroom manufacturing sector and inspire others to follow suit.

Enter here using our entry form.

Back to Blog